Abbreviated Curriculum Vitae: Arielle Cooley

Whitman College Biology Dept.
Walla Walla, WA 99362
Telephone: 509-527-4988


Whitman College, Walla Walla, WA (2012-present)
Assistant professor and Paul Garrett Fellow

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI (2009-2012)
Ruth Kirschstein Postdoctoral Fellow
Advisor: Dr. Patricia J. Wittkopp

Duke University, Durham, NC (2002-2008)
Ph.D. in Biology, concentration in Genetics
Advisor: Dr. John H. Willis

La Selva Biological Station, Costa Rica (2001-2002)
Independent research project on tropical plant biomechanics
Advisors: Dr. Philip Rundel and Dr. Alexandra Reich (UCLA)

Pomona College, Claremont, CA (1997-2001)
B.A. Magna Cum Laude in Biology and Public Policy Analysis (combined major)
Phi Beta Kappa


Stanton, K., P.P. Edger, J.R. Puzey, T. Kinser, *P. Cheng, D.M. Vernon, N.R. Forsthoefel, and A.M. Cooley (2017). A whole transcriptome approach to evaluating reference genes for quantitative gene expression studies: A case study in Mimulus. G3: Genes, Genomes, Genetics 7(4): 1085-1095. DOI: 10.1534/g3.116.038075

Stanton, K., *C.M. Valentin, *M.E. Wijnen, *S. Stutsman, *J.J. Palacios, and A.M. Cooley (2016). Absence of post-mating barriers between a selfing vs. outcrossing Chilean Mimulus (Phrymaceae) species pair. American Journal of Botany, 103(6): 1030-1040. DOI:10.3732/ajb.1600079

John, A.V., L.L. Sramkoski, E. Walker, A.M. Cooley, and P.J. Wittkopp (2016). Sensitivity of allelic divergence to genomic position: Lessons from the Drosophila tan gene. G3: Genes, Genomes, Genetics, 6(9): 2955-2962. DOI:10.1534/g3.116.032029

Vallejo-Marin, M., A.M. Cooley, *M.L.Y. Qi, *M. Folmer, M.R. Mckain, and J.R. Puzey (2016). Strongly asymmetric hybridization barriers shape the origin of a new polyploid species and its hybrid ancestor. American Journal of Botany, 103(7): 1272-1288. DOI: 10.1101/030932

Vallejo-Marin, M., R.J.A. Buggs, A.M. Cooley, and J.R. Puzey (2015). Speciation by genome duplication: Repeated origins and genomic composition of the recently formed allopolyploid species Mimulus peregrinus. Evolution 69(6): 1487-1500. DOI: 10.1111/evo.12678

Cooley, A.M., *L. Shefner, *W.N. Mclaughlin, *E.E. Stewart, and P.J. Wittkopp (2012). The ontogeny of color: developmental origins of divergent pigmentation in Drosophila americana and D. novamexicana. Evolution & Development 14(4): 317-325. Featured cover article. DOI:10.1111/j.1525-142X.2012.00550

Cooley, A.M., J.L. Modliszewski, *M.L. Rommel, and J.H. Willis (2011). Gene duplication in Mimulus underlies parallel floral evolution via independent trans-regulatory changes. Current Biology 21(8): 700-704. Featured cover article. DOI:10.1016/j.cub.2011.03.028

Wittkopp, P.J., G. Smith-Winberry, L.L. Arnold, *E.M. Thompson, A.M. Cooley, D.C. Yuan, Q. Song, and B.F. McAllister (2011). Local adaptation for body color in Drosophila americana. Heredity 106(4): 592-602. DOI:10.1038/hdy.2010.90

Cooley, A.M., and J.H. Willis (2009). Genetic divergence causes parallel evolution of flower color in Chilean Mimulus. New Phytologist 183(3): 729-739. Special Issue: “Plant Adaptation: Following in Darwin’s Footsteps”. DOI:10.1111/j.1469-8137.2009.02858.

Cooley, A.M., G. Carvallo, and J.H. Willis (2008). Is floral diversification associated with pollinator divergence? Flower shape, flower colour, and pollinator preference in Chilean Mimulus. Annals of Botany 101(5): 641-650. Featured cover article. DOI:10.1093/aob/mcn014

Wu, C. A., D. B. Lowry, A. M. Cooley, K. M. Wright, Y.-W. Lee, J. H. Willis (2007). Mimulus is an emerging model system for the integration of ecological and genomic studies. Heredity 100(2): 220-230. DOI:10.1038/sj.hdy.6801018

Cooley, A. M., A. Reich, and P. Rundel (2004). Leaf support biomechanics of neotropical understory herbs. American Journal of Botany 91(4): 573-581.  DOI:10.3732/ajb.91.4.573

*Undergraduate co-authors

Research Grants

National Science Foundation Award #1655311 (2017-2020)
Murdock College Research Program Renewal (2017-2019)
MicroMORPH Cross-Disciplinary Training Grant (2017)
American Philosophical Society, Franklin Research Grant (2016-2017)
Murdock College Research Program for Life Sciences (2015-2017)
NIH Ruth Kirschstein Award 1 F32 GM087928-01 (2009-2012)
NSF Predoctoral Award 338-0098 (2002-2006)
James B. Duke Fellowship (2002-2006)
NSF Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant (2005)
Duke Graduate School International Research Travel Award (2003, 2004, 2005)
Duke University Latin American Studies Travel Award (2004)
Duke University Program in Ecology Fellowship (2003-2004)
Research Experience for Undergraduates (2000)

Courses Taught at Whitman

Genetics (annually)
Evolution & Development (each fall)
Evolution & Development Lab (each fall)
Plant Physiology (each spring)
Plant Physiology Lab (each spring)
Biology senior thesis and seminar
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology senior thesis and seminar

Undergraduate researchers and what they are up to now

2017-2018: Johanna Au, Jessie Friedman, Erin Minus, Kuenzang Om, Taylor Wilke

2016-2017: Rachel Eguia (University of Washington PREP Scholar), Kevin Miller (interested in elementary and middle school education), Anne Vonada (Oregon Health and Sciences University lab technician), Aaron Williams (December 2017 graduate).

2015-2016: Jessica Palacios (internship with Milkweed Publishing), Jeremy Nolan (Fulbright scholar), Allison Eggert (interested in graduate school in physical therapy).

2014-2015: Marijke Wijnen (considering graduate school in biology), Philip Cheng (Wake Forest School of Medicine).

2013-2014: Janae Edelson (pursuing a doctor of Pharmacy at Oregon State University ), Leah Mohtes-Chan (doctorate in physical therapy, Eastern Washington University), Celine Valentin (Master's in exercise physiology, Montana State University).

2012-2013: Sage Stutsman (pursuing a Master's in teaching at Seattle Pacific University).

2011-2012: Wesley McLaughlin (completed medical school at Rosalind Franklin University).

2008-2009: Megan Rommel (now a forensic scientist specializing in DNA evidence).

Mentoring of other student research projects

2017: Jenafir "Rain" Neissl Mayner (Lincoln High School student)

2016: Skyler James (Lincoln High School student)

2013, 2014: Seth Chapman (Walla Walla High School student)

2010: Zhixiu Yang (summer exchange student from Beijing; applied graduate school).

2005: Arlonzo Williams (Howard Hughes Precollege Program; went on to Vanderbilt as a first-generation college student).

2004: Jamihlia Johnson (Howard Hughes Precollege Program; went on to UNC-Chapel Hill as a first-generation college student).

2003-2004: Carolyn Robinson (independent project; went on to medical school).

Science outreach

Whitman Institute for Scholastic Enrichment (Summer 2013, 2017)

Partnership for Undergraduate Life Science Education (2016)

Friends of the Farm Labor Homes, "Summer of Exploration" (Summer 2015, 2016)

Whitman Summer College (Summer 2015)

Whitman Teaches The Movement (Jan-Feb 2015)

Middle School Science Fair (Summer 2014)

GEAR UP Instructor (Summer 2013)